Laguna University History

The Provincial Government of Laguna is committed to pursue a constitutional provision under Article 2 Section 17 to establish a University and promote the right of all Lagunenses to quality education at all levels. It is also aware of its obligations to give the less privileged but talented and gifted students of Laguna, the opportunity to accommodate graduates of secondary schools to pursue vocational and higher education courses.

By virtue of Provincial Ordinance No. 1 S. 2006, the Laguna University (LU) was established on February 15, 2006 under the leadership of Hon. Teresita S. Lazaro, the former Governor of Laguna who was elected President and Chairman of the Board of Regents under Resolution No. 198-A S. 2006 dated March 29, 2006 of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Laguna.

Below is the table of chronological events of the establishment of LU:

February 2005
Vice Chair:
Organization of the Technical Working Group
Dr. Felisa P.L. Cruz
Mr. Dennis S, Lazaro
Prof. Remily D. Samonte
Prof. Cecilia R. Ang
Mrs. Eugenia R. Magano
Dr. Cristina F. Mencias
Dr. Manuel E. Leycano, Jr.
Atty. Joseph Joel R. Castillo
Dr. Ceferina Taringting
Mr. Anastacio R. L. Cruz, Jr.
Mrs. Elisa Mirabueno
February 15, 2006 Laguna University was established
August 5, 2006 Organizational structure of LU was presented to the Board of Regents
April 21 & 28, 2006 Laguna University Admission Test was taken by applicants at Pedro Guevarra Memorial High School
May 7-14, 2006 Interview of freshmen applicants
May 9, 2006 Initial interview with prospective faculty members and non-teaching personnel
May 15, 2006 Panel interview with prospective faculty members
May 16-31, 2006 Enrolment of incoming freshmen
May 30, 2006 Orientation of faculty members
June 7, 2006 Faculty members and non-teaching staff of LU were introduced to the Board of Regents during the Board meeting
June 13, 2006 Orientation of students and parents. The University officials, BOR members, teaching and non-teaching personnel were presented to the students and their parents.

On June 19, 2006, the first day of regular classes started with 423 students at the RECS Village (now called Laguna Sports Complex), Santa Cruz, Laguna.  The ten (10) blocks categorized into their respective courses are as follows:

Block 1 – Health Care Services (HCS) NC II
Block 2 – HCS NC II
Block 3 – HCS NC II
Block 4 – Bachelor of Elementary Education/ Bachelor of Secondary Education
Block 5 – BS Computer Science
Block 6 – BS Entrepreneurship
Block 7 – Information, Communication, and Technology
Block 8 – Information, Communication, and Technology
Block 9 – BS Mechanical Engineering 
Block 10 – BA Communication Arts

LU boasts of high caliber faculty members who are experts in their respective fields and administrative staff who are equally competent. With the guidance of the Board of Regents (BOR) and the LU officials who are very supportive, both joined efforts in creating a conducive learning environment for the students. When it started, the institution only has eighteen (18) faculty members and seven (7) administrative personnel, as follows:

Faculty Members: 

Mayra Christina M. Ambrocio
Cristia A. Guevara
Monette O. Bato
Dr. Rommel D. C. Mallari
Anastacio R.L. Cruz, Jr.
Ms. Elisa P. Mirabueno
Van S. Dalluay
Emelyn U. Napiza
Norayda M. Dimaculangan
Marie Joy Quidayan-Elomina
Roberto B. Dionisio
Bernadette M. Ramos
Olga J. Domingo
Edna F. Valenzuela
Joy M. Esperanza
Agnes G. Ycogo
Gualolarina C. Fernandez

Administrative Personnel:

Elena U. Napiza
Doris L. Benzon
Virginia S. Bañez
Norma P. Dangan
Wendylyn O. Tobias
Glaiza Talucod-Sumilang
Daryl M. Paghangaan

LU continues its noble desire to provide quality and affordable education under former Governor Jorge “ER” Ejercito Estregan, who started the construction of LU buildings. Through the effective and responsible governance of the administration under the leadership of Governor Ramil L. Hernandez, the mission of the institution is being carried on. This was evident by the provision of free quality education since Academic Year 2018-2019.

On March 13, 2020, Dr. Charlemagne G. Laviña was appointed as the University President. During his term, the CHED Institutional Recognition was granted to Laguna University and awarded the Certificate of Eligibility on June 25, 2021.

In pursuit of the continuous provision of quality education and services, LU attained  level two accreditation in Bachelor of Elementary Education, Bachelor of Secondary Education major in English and Mathematics and Bachelor of Science in Information Technology. Likewise, Bachelor of Arts in Communication, Bachelor of Science in Accountancy and Bachelor of Science in Entrepreneurship achieved the level one accreditation while Bachelor of Science in Computer Science, Bachelor of Science in Tourism Management, Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering and Bachelor of Secondary Education major in Science attained the candidate status for accreditation.

At present, LU has more than 5,000 students, with fifteen (15) degree programs and one (1) certificate program, all recognized by the Commission on Higher Education (CHED), and Senior High School (SHS) under the Department of Education. With the leadership of Governor Ramil L. Hernandez, the incumbent Governor of Laguna, competently supported by the officials, personnel, students and other stakeholders, LU will continue its mission in helping the underprivileged but talented students of Laguna. 

Scroll to Top